PDA

View Full Version : Help!!

08-06-2005, 06:22 PM
Any help or comments would be greatly appreciated. I am new to this board and I am sure some of the old hands have heard a similar story before and are probably tired of answering the same questions over and over again. Regardless as I said any help or comments would be greatly appreciated.

A little background.

I started playing online low limit poker about three months ago. I have played approximately 3,000 hands. I have played at Party Poker and Golden Tiger. I went to Golden tiger because of their very low micro limit games. At Party Poker I have played in .50 to $1.00, $3 to 6$ and 5$ sit and go.

I have read and reread these books. “Mauldin Texas Holdem Secrets”, “Winning Low Limit Holdem” Jones, 52 Tipsfor Texas Holdem” Shulman, “Small Stakes Holdem” Miller, Sklansky and Malmuth.

I play excellent pre flop cards. I adjust for position and recognize its importance. I do not defend blinds when not warranted. I follow the hands suggested in “Small Stakes Holdem” I recognize the importance of pot odds and when in doubt fold if the odds are not in my favor.

Here is my problem. Except for the sit and go games I always lose. In the sit and goes I usually place in the money. In regular games I get beat soundly with every hand imaginable. If I have trips I lose to straights and flushes. If I have straights and flushes I get beat by full houses. When I flop a full house I get beat by 4 of a kind or higher boats. I just get beat consistently.

Now I am not naïve and I understand that no one can master poke in three months. But what in the heck am I doing wrong? What do the others know that I don”t. It seems like it literally does not matter what hand I have because I get beat continuously. If I was getting beat with bad hands or because I start off with 72o I could understand but I don’t.