PDA

View Full Version : Hello! On 4th Str. , the Bull had...

SittingBull
03-16-2003, 11:35 PM
(4,3)4,7
Player1 had 2 suited paint showing--live diamonds and live cards.
Don't remember what player2 had.
When I can't remember what a player has,I believe that he is no threat to my hand or very little threat.
Both players check to the Bull.
Player1 is an elderly lady whom I've been locking horns with for several years.
Don't remember anything about Player2.
Player1 is usually on the tight side.
However,she seemed to play looser than usual during this session. She was playing quite a large number of 3rd Str. hands.
Hmmm What's the Bull's play at this point??

Just wondering
SittingBull

DoctorK
03-17-2003, 05:13 PM
Why did you play this tiny pair, even smaller kicker (I hope you were the bring in)? Anyhoo, if Player 1 is loose like you say, she will probably call a bet here.

The problem with a hand like yours is this: suppose you check 4th, and then catch a 3 or a 7 on 5th for a baby 2-pair... but loosey-goosey catches a third of her suit. You don't really want to be calling a $5 bet from her there, because although she may not have the flush, or even a 4-flush, she very well may... or she may have one big pair and an easy draw to beat you... or she may already have two pair and you're way behind...

If you bet here, what will the other two players reasonbly put you on. About the strongest hand you would conceivably have as the bring-in betting here is a pair of 7s... maybe 7s up. Not a monster.

Check and hope... that's my 4th street play here.

Tom D
03-18-2003, 12:00 AM
You’re pretty miserly with info, but I can’t think of a scenario where I would bet your hand. I assume there’s $3 in the pot, and I can’t imagine why Player 1 didn’t bet it ($3) to knock out the bring-in, which may have been you. She made a big mistake, and I’d make her pay for it by taking the free card. If you spike another 4, she might not like it.