PDA

View Full Version : pushing top pair on flop - what's my biggest mistake?

08-05-2005, 08:42 AM
First post, so be gentle wif me :-) I'm a relative beginner with just a few months of play, but I've done quite a lot of reading (and lurking in this forum) -- now trying to get serious and put all the theory into practice.

So far, my best format is $20 2-table MTT at Party, but this hand is from a $350 freeroll tournament at Doyle's Room (trying to win a bit of money there without putting any more in).

~300 entrants, 48 left. Play at the beginning was arbitrary (lots of Q3 all-ins losing to K high etc.) but has settled down considerably since jettisoning 3/4 of players. I.e. sanity would appear to have taken hold.

There hasn't been much movement of players -- many have been at this same table since the beginning. I had an awful start, losing the first few hands I was in (good hands losing to better hands) but have managed to claw my way back with a couple of double-ups and am now having some success with standard 2 to 3xBB raises and continuation bets. Every time there has been a showdown, I have been ahead.

Play has been surprisingly passive lately. Pushes are common enough, but they almost always just win the blinds. My last action was a pre-flop push a few hands ago, which, sure enough, won the blinds. Now to the hand in question...

- - - - - - - - -
Blinds: 300/600

Seat 2 : Jackl111 has $6,890
Seat 4 : kungemil has $10,570
Seat 5 : hsstrider has $3,900
Seat 6 : bobwieler has $19,770
Seat 7 : axolotl7 has $6,210
Seat 8 : titouan has $6,195
Seat 9 : umustbeatme has $20,205

hsstrider is the dealer.
bobwieler posted small blind.
axolotl7 posted big blind.

Seat 7 : axolotl7 has 3h 9s

titouan folded.
umustbeatme called 600
Jackl111 folded.
kungemil called 600
hsstrider called 600
bobwieler called 300
axolotl7 checked.

Dealing flop.
Board cards [4d 8h 9h]

bobwieler checked.
axolotl7 bet 5,610 and is All-in
umustbeatme called 5,610
kungemil folded.