PDA

View Full Version : Do I spend too much time on poker?

MagicMan08
08-05-2005, 03:04 AM
How many of you guys spend a decent amount of your freetime either playing poker, posting poker, reading poker, or thinking about poker? I know I do because I truly enjoy the game and being sucessful at it. Some people say I spend too much time on poker...

smurfitup
08-05-2005, 04:38 AM
hey magicman,
i'm a college student, and i've been playing online for about a year... i've given thought to this same question many times and i've concluded that i probably do play more than i should and i'd be willing to bet (yes, i see the irony) that the majority of the posters here play more than they should. i don't think it's necessarily a gambling addiction, but it is most probably at least a mild form of obsession... my dad is a chess master, and he has told me countless stories of people whose lives were ruined because they became so consumed by chess, and i'm positive the same holds true for poker. it can be a very complex and very competitive game and depending on one's personality make-up, it could very well be consuming. i'm planning on taking a break from poker once school starts... maybe you should consider one to.

sorry for rambling...

Net Warrior
08-05-2005, 07:42 AM
I've been a game player all my life. I love chess and many other strategy games. I'm a baby boomer and I guess this is the way I get to satisfy my competitive impulses. I have a very non-competitive job. I also love sports games like golf and handball. Here I get both exercise and competition. What could be better than that!

About 7-8 years ago I started playing Hold'em on line. I started with play money and when I knew I was competitive and switched to real money. If you can believe it, I was given a $10 real money "bonus" from my play money site and I parlayed that into my current $10-$20 bankroll. Now I get all the compitiion I want and make money at the same time.