PDA

View Full Version : cold run

08-04-2005, 08:42 PM
I have been playing poker for about 3 years. Actually started 3/6 B&M, taught for 1 hour by a friend (he won like 70g last year!), and crushed the game, 14 str8 wins of 300$ + before ay losses. Even after that I ran win rates like 85% of the time. So I started playing online, and have read every book available. Online started out as break even, then profitable. Played NL at first online, then moved to limit. I was successful at .5/1, then moved to 1/2, 3/6, and in the last few months have been profitable at 5/10. I cashed out 9g or so last year, and 2500 last month. Avg $900 a month from jan-june. This month, I have rebought 5 times (50 bucks each and one hundred) and cant break into the W column. I played .5/1, 1/2, and a few sit n gos and simply cannot win. Usually I throw on 50 bucks, start at the small games to build a roll, build up to 3/6 sometimes 5/10, then cash out. I feel like the cards are cold and the beats have been shitty but I just dont see that as being the whole issue. Maybe im overthinking poker? Is that possible? 1 whole month of cold and unprofitable game. Before the months started, I bought PT, and started posting on this online site. I am wondering if I am just overthinking or burning myself out, I havent ever had an unprofitable streak over 1 week before. Anyone have any suggestions or similar issues???????
thanks
chris

spaminator101
08-04-2005, 08:45 PM
your treating your bankroll as a tournament buyin
this is something that has to stop
you must have a larger bankroll to move up and still go throught the normal fluctuations of the game

Matt Williams
08-04-2005, 09:30 PM
I read your post 2 times I still don't understand it. If you want any good advice, you need to make what you write easily understandable. It's basically one huge run-on sentence. But it seems like your bankroll is not big enough. You shouldn't be counting winning streaks and you should expect to lose too.