PDA

View Full Version : I am planning on being a dumb tourist in NYC, tell me what I should do

B Dids
08-04-2005, 12:57 PM
I'll be in NYC the weeek of August 15th. (after I go to AC as part of www.snipurl.com/didsinac (http://www.snipurl.com/didsinac) ).

Things I'm planning on doing:

1- some dinner with interested 2+2ers, some of whom have very expensive apartments.

2- Seeing: Ground Zero, Times Square, Ellis Island, Central Park, Bronx Zoo, Staten Island Ferry.

3- I'm thinking a Mets game. I'd rather see the Yankees, just for the of history and what not, but they're not in town that week.

4- I'm an Iron Chef geek, so I'm thinking Mesa Grill, Nobu in terms of places to eat. Other suggestions? I know there's some deli that I'm supposed to hit up.

So what am I missing? What am I planning on doing that will actually suck. If it helps- I'm staying in Midtown, and was planning doing most of my travel on the Subway.

Paluka
08-04-2005, 01:05 PM
I think you should go up in the Empire State Building after dark. It is pretty cool.
You might want to hit either MoMA or the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
You should get pizza and ice cream at John's/Cones on Bleeker.

08-04-2005, 01:06 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I know there's some deli that I'm supposed to hit up.

[/ QUOTE ]

Katz's on Houston Street. Also, you might want to take the Q train to Coney Island and ride the Cyclone. Not many tourists get out of Manhattan.

sfer
08-04-2005, 01:06 PM
Linky no verk.

Food that you like? Also, there's like zero chance you get into Nobu.

Bronx Zoo rocks.

Mets games are fun. So are Cyclones games in Coney Island.

Laomedon
08-04-2005, 01:07 PM
Unless you really don't like art you must go to the Metropolitan Musuem of Art and the Museum of Modern Art. It'll be worth it.

Other restaurants worth trying are:

- Sushi of Gari (you mentioned Nobu, but this place is the real deal)

- Scalini Fedeli (if you have a female companion or just generally enjoy insanely good Italian food)