PDA

View Full Version : A good ending to a bad day

jasonHoldEm
03-13-2003, 11:58 PM
Hi all,

What a day. I sat down at the NL tables at party and made two stupid calls within 15 minutes, busting myself twice. I'd like to think the first was a bad beat, but really it wasn't...the second...well, to say I was tilting a little is an understatement.

I took a break, had some dinner, and then decided to try and rebuild my depleted bankroll a little by playing some single table tournaments (which is probably my specialty even though I'm not really good at anything /forums/images/icons/wink.gif ).

Anyways, I was being my normal tight little self. I hadn't even seen a flop yet (except for maybe a free ride from BB or two, which I immediately folded on). When the limits hit 30/60 I managed to take down a monster pot. I think I have a pretty good tournament strategy, usually I just wait for a hand and play it very aggressively. It's gotten me crushed more than once, and this particular hand is one of those times where if it had gone the other way I would have been. I'm posting it to see what you guys think of my play, (was I too agressive?). It should be noted this was a $5 tournament and the action up until this point was fairly loose agressive, significant amount of pre-flop raising and people chasing the river with junk.

Here we go (limits are at 30/60):

I'm in SB with K /forums/images/icons/heart.gif K /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif

UTG calls, EP raises, MP, CO, & Button cold call. I three bet, UTG folds, EP caps, MP, CO & button call, I call.

Five of us see the flop (22 small bets in the pot):

K /forums/images/icons/club.gif A /forums/images/icons/club.gif T /forums/images/icons/heart.gif

Hmm...is this a good flop for me? Granted, I've got 3 K's, so I'm in a pretty good spot, but with a straight and flush draw out there I'm wondering if my flop play was smart.