PDA

View Full Version : How Much Do You Practice Your Instrument?

theBruiser500
08-03-2005, 11:53 PM
I just started playing the piano and am enjoying it immensly. I try to play about an hour a day, though it always seems like practicing more would be better and I never practice enough cause I have so much exciting awesome sheet music to learn. My piano teacher says she's happy to get 1/2 an hour a day from her students, none of her students (young peole) do an hour a day. She said 4 hours a day would be really good. That's a shitload of practicing.

So just curious how much do you practice your instrument, and how often? Some days I don't feel like practicing and only do it for 15 minutes but it seems like I should force myself to everyday so I get into the habit and will be happier in the long run.

lucas9000
08-03-2005, 11:54 PM
"skin flute" joke in 5...4...3...

ClaytonN
08-04-2005, 12:01 AM
I tried to read this thread for what it was and not crack up from all the subliminal and unintentional whacking off references, but I just couldn't.

kipin
08-04-2005, 12:05 AM
The Russian exchange student I hosted junior year of highschool easily practiced the piano 6+ hours a day. He is also the best person I have ever heard play the piano.

It was fun hosting him.

theBruiser500
08-04-2005, 12:08 AM
wow that is amazing. i am incredulous that somoene could do that, a highschool student nonetheless. how often did he take breaks in that 6 hours, was he really conentrating the whole time? oculd he play all of the hardest music around and just site read all moderately hard stuff?

12ozLongneck
08-04-2005, 12:08 AM
You can accomplish quite a bit in 2 hours of practice per day.

Luv2DriveTT
08-04-2005, 12:09 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I tried to read this thread for what it was and not crack up from all the subliminal and unintentional whacking off references, but I just couldn't.

[/ QUOTE ]

"That's a shitload of practicing."

TT /images/graemlins/club.gif

wacki
08-04-2005, 12:10 AM