PDA

View Full Version : Asking to see mucked cards

01-16-2002, 11:49 AM
I'm new to poker, and so far have been focusing on learning to play holdem. I have only gone to a cardroom to play a few times so far, and have been trying to follow the advice I have read and watch what starting hands people play to gauge their play. However, it seems like players almost never show their hands (even when they go to a showdown). It seems like one person turns over a strong hand at the end, and the other players involved muck. This makes it pretty much impossible to figure out the types of hands that they play.

I seem to remember reading somewhere that, if a hand goes to a showdown and one player mucks after the other shows, you can ask to see that player's cards. Is this true? Should I be doing this? Will everyone at the table get mad at me for asking to see their mucked cards? Should I just rely on the few times that the hands are close enough that everyone shows?

01-16-2002, 01:21 PM