PDA

View Full Version : "Top"/"bottom" meaning? (and a hand)

08-03-2005, 10:37 AM
I have a question regarding the terms "top" and "bottom" - are these measured as an absolute strength of the cards, i.e. A,K,Q,J will be always high, or relative to the flop, that is for the flop of A, K and Q, the ace would be "top" and the queen would be "bottom"?

On an unrelated note, if somebody has a time to look at a total newbie's hand - in the following situation, where I had a pair, did I make any big mistakes?

PokerStars 0.02/0.04 Hold'em (9 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Preflop: Hero is CO with Q/images/graemlins/club.gif, Q/images/graemlins/diamond.gif. MP1 posts a blind of $0.02.
UTG calls, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, MP1 (poster) checks, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises</font>, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, SB calls, BB calls, UTG calls, MP1 calls.

Flop: (10 SB) J/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 3/images/graemlins/heart.gif, K/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="#CC3333">BB bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">UTG raises</font>, MP1 folds, Hero calls, SB folds, <font color="#CC3333">BB 3-bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">UTG caps</font>, Hero calls, BB calls.

Turn: (11 BB) 7/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">BB bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">UTG raises</font>, Hero folds, BB calls.

River: (15 BB) J/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">BB bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">UTG raises</font>, <font color="#CC3333">BB 3-bets</font>, UTG calls.

Final Pot: 21 BB

BB has 3c Jd (full house, jacks full of threes).
UTG has 3d 3s (full house, threes full of jacks).
Outcome: BB wins 21 BB.

TaoTe
08-03-2005, 10:56 AM