PDA

View Full Version : Balancing Poker and Relationships.

Aequitas58
08-03-2005, 09:11 AM
I'm crossposting this (Texas Hold'Em caterogy/ Other Other Topics) - I hope this isn't against the 2+2 rules, but I'm looking for as many responses as possible.

Long time reader, not much of a poster. I frequently post to two other HE forums, but I came here in search of a serious answer. I won't link the sites, b/c I don't want to to think I'm spamming. lol...

For the guys who have a wife / girlfriend, etc: How do you guys manage both? This sounds like a silly question, but if you're in a long term relationship, how do you manage having adequate poker-time and adequate "relationship" time?

I graduated law school in May. Studied non-stop for the PA + NJ bar exams. Took the bars in late July. Before starting to study for the bar, I would play regularly, at least an hour and a half/day.

Money hasn't been an issue... it's time. I'm not a degenerate to "gamble the rent money," and she knows this, so she's only concerned w/ the fact that I play so often.

She's a great girl - love her to death - and I hope to get engaged before this Christmas.

OK: If you have a significant "other," how do you handle poker and your relationship? Do you have an agreement worked out? Portion of your winnings to go into the "family," etc?

--
Lou

daveymck
08-03-2005, 09:13 AM
OMG wtf no poker content here.

Cross post it under psychology might get a decent response there.

FouTight
08-03-2005, 09:29 AM
if the chick can't dig your lifestyle, do you REALLY love her? sounds like she doesn't love you, sounds like she is in love with what she wants you to be.

spamuell
08-03-2005, 09:50 AM
This is OOT, no one has any idea about either of these.

jakethebake
08-03-2005, 09:51 AM
http://forums.caraudio.com/vb/images/smilies/needpics.gif

spamuell
08-03-2005, 09:54 AM
Wish me happy birthday Jake, I must have wished it to you fifty times.

jakethebake
08-03-2005, 09:56 AM
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]