PDA

View Full Version : Timid at Micro Limits

DaNoob
03-12-2003, 03:30 PM
Hello all,

This is my first time posting to the site and admittedly, I have a lot yet to learn about poker and the best way to get advice from more seasoned players. I'm very new to the game (been playing online for about 2 weeks now) and am still learning the ropes through micro limit games and small stakes tourneys, playing mostly Holdem. I seem to be doing much better in the tournaments than the ring games and was hoping to pick up some advice on how to improve my game.

Question is, due to the aggressive call/raise nature of most micro limit games, what is the best way to determine if a hand is worth paying to see the flop? I've played a lot of micro-limit games lately .05/.10 and .10/.25 and always end up folding decent hands to pre-flop raises, only to find out that the pre-flop raiser was holding a 67o, 23o, or some related garbage. When I called however, thinking that the player(s) were bluffing, I ended up losing more times than not. I know that posting specific hands will elicit more specific responses, and will certainly post them as they come along. In the meantime, does anyone have ideas on how best to shape my strategy on these tables?

I've read on several other posts that you should learn how to win the micro games before you try stepping up to the bigger stakes, and I don't feel like I'm making progress.

Trying not to be the fool (and his money).

lil'
03-12-2003, 03:44 PM
Like you said, it's hard to say without any hands posted. I've never played at micro limit, but here's my 2 cents...

If there is a player who tends to raise with crap, you want to isolate him with a re-raise, not call. It would be ideal to be heads up with someone who may have crap rather than put two bets cold into a pot with several other players.

RockLobster
03-12-2003, 04:45 PM