PDA

View Full Version : Moving up when starting out

08-01-2005, 05:15 PM
I have been playing for about 5 months and am studying the books. I started off with .25 cent tables and then when I had some downswings went to the .05 cent tables to learn the concepts while gradually increasing my bankroll. After a recent brief few days foray back up to the .25 cent tables I found, as was before, a maybe tighter and maybe more experienced group of players but I learned more there in just a short time but it was costly in confidence and bankroll when I had a run of "bad luck". Maybe I was being outplayed for my level but it's hard to get that experience at the .05 cent tables. I guess switching back and forth so that I play enough games to get additional experience at learning the basic concepts at the lower tables plus the experience with better players and playing tighter maybe myself when the conditions call for it is the answer. I see other players doing that, at times, too. Any comments?

beaster
08-01-2005, 11:04 PM
I suggest you first grab a copy of Poker Tracker, if you haven't already. Even if you don't understand what all the numbers mean yet, it's crucial you begin tracking your play. You will understand it soon enough.

Concentrate on one level for the moment. Pick nickel/dimes and stick with it. Or try 0.10/0.20 if the hits at 0.25/0.50 are messing with your confidence and/or bankroll.

I think its crucial to stay at one level and play through at least 10k hands. While most here will tell you "small sample size", after 10k hands you should have a pretty good idea if you're beating the level. Feel confident? Padded your bankroll enough? Move up. Otherwise, continue studying and improving your game. Personally I feel you should be beating the nanos to the tune of at least 2+ BB/100, but others may have differing opinions. Break-even poker isn't saying much since these limits are usually not raked.