PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts about moving up in limits, and my August challange.

stillbr
08-01-2005, 11:59 AM
Quite often we see a post from someone asking whether or not they should move up in limits. They'll ask "how much do I need to take a shot at 5-10" ect... The simple answer that most people say is somthing along the lines of "take 100 bets to that level and just give it a shot, if you lose it move back down." Most of the time this is the advice they need to hear. But this just doesnt seem to work for me. What is it about me that makes me such a bankroll wuss???? I hate the thought of moving up, and moving back down. I am a student, and poker is my sole income. I pay all of my bills through poker (except for tuition and books paid for by my parents). I keep over 1000 bets in my bankroll for 3-6 6max & cash out quite often. I have just gotten comfortable at my current limit, and never have the drive to take shots at higher limits. So I came up with a plan. I'm going to start making myself out a challenge each month, and this month it will be 3-6 6max. If everything goes well, then next month my challenge will be at 5-10, then 10-20 and so on. I'm using these challenges to make myself move up. This will take poker from being soley a way to make $ (how I talk myself into never moving up "the $ is plenty good enough for a college student") to a challenge. It is now a game that I want to beat(hopefully).

So here is my august challenge.

play 35,000 hands at 3-6 6max (currently I usually get around 15k or so)

Make $5,200 after rakeback and bonuses this month.

I want to average about 2bb/100 during this time. I'm not exactly sure I've calculated my rake & bonus prediction very accurately. I'm going to focus alot of my posts on getting better from the blinds.

Argus
08-01-2005, 12:44 PM
</font><blockquote><font class="small">En réponse à:</font><hr />
So here is my august challenge.

play 35,000 hands at 3-6 6max (currently I usually get around 15k or so)