PDA

View Full Version : Blue-footed Milestone (with a HUGE "thank you" for all) - a bit long

bluefeet
07-31-2005, 10:12 PM
2+2 STT Family,

Certainly not original, but with the coinciding of my ‘Old Hand’ status and my first 750 SnGs after finding this forum, I wanted to extend my deepest gratitude to all of you.

My name is Dave. I’m a single father of two amazing daughters (20 & 14). I’ve been flying solo for 11 years now. I make my living as a mainframe computer programmer – contracted with GM.

With my oldest starting her second year of college, and my youngest getting more expensive by the day (just say “no” to competitive gymnastics!), the economy and the effects on my industry have resulted in some pretty uncertain times. I spend most of my time now training what will inevitably be my India/China/Brazil replacement. We’ve gone from 150 strong, down to the last 30 or so. It’s kind of a ‘last one here, turn out the lights’ situation. Throw in not having received a pay raise in 5 years, a 50 mile commute (earning a lot of Speedy Reward Points at the gas station – free hotdogs!!), and you can imagine things have gotten pretty tight.

I won’t bore you with the history of my poker career. I’ll just say that I’ve been on-line for 2 years now. All but the past 5 months, being quite pointless. I played just a handful a month on first UB, then PP. It was purely a recreational activity. I had neither the time or money to make much more of it. Everything changed this past January.

A good friend/co-worker won a small-stakes MTT on PS, and transferred to me $50 to try the sight. With a whopping 4 buy-ins, I lucked into an unexplainable run on the 6-seaters. It became apparent to me, that if I became a student of the game, I might actually be able to make a much needed couple of bucks. And a student, I became.