PDA

View Full Version : A10 vs KJ

07-28-2005, 06:23 PM
I've been playing casually for about 2 years, mostly SNG's. I say "casually" because while I pay attention while I play, and I read a bit, I'm not studying this game as much as I probably should. Even so, playing mostly $22 games, I'm up about $3000. The last 6 months or so though I've come to a halt. I'm barely keeping even, can't seem to get going, and I'm starting to think that the first $3000 was mostly luck. I still have so much to learn.

OK, here's my question.

I'm in last in a 10-seat SNG with 4 people remaining. $300 blinds and I've got maybe $1200. I get A-10, or A-6 or A-whatever. I go all-in and get called by KQ, or K10 or by 10-9, any two cards between mine. I've lost the last 5 out 6 situations like this. Am I crazy or should I be winning more of these?

I realize that my bigger problem is finding myself short-stacked near the end of the game, but I'm working on that.

Please let me know that whether in this situation I'm playing correctly.

SheridanCat
07-28-2005, 08:04 PM
In an all-in situation (where you're going to showdown no matter what) ATo vs. KJo is about a 60:40 favorite. It seems like it should be more, shouldn't it, but that's what Poker Stove says. These number change slightly if the suits overlap. So, your experience probably isn't all that strange since your sample size is so small.

As for whether it's right to push all-in when short stacked and on the bubble, the answer is probably yes.

You said $300 blinds, so I'll assume the blinds are $200 and $100. You have $1200. That means your raw M is only 4. But it get's worse. Of the original 10 players, there are only 4 left. So your effective M is less than 2. You can survive only 4 rounds (16 hands or so) so you must make a move right now while you have chips to make a move with. So, yes, about any ace is good. I'd try to get it all in with about any hand better than Q6o or so.