PDA

View Full Version : Omaha Hi. What do you do here ?

07-28-2005, 08:02 AM
I'm new to omaha.

.50/1 limit

K/images/graemlins/heart.gif K/images/graemlins/club.gif 8/images/graemlins/spade.gif 2/images/graemlins/heart.gif

I'm in SB

Flop: 9/images/graemlins/diamond.gif 9/images/graemlins/heart.gif Q/images/graemlins/heart.gif

I believe it was checked around.

5 people see the flop including me. (7 handed)

Turn: T/images/graemlins/heart.gif pot=2.50

I bet $1
MP raises to $2
LP calls
me ???

Do I just assume that I'm behind and fold ? Is there any value in calling and check/calling the river ?

MarkGritter
07-28-2005, 12:14 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I'm new to omaha.

.50/1 limit

K/images/graemlins/heart.gif K/images/graemlins/club.gif 8/images/graemlins/spade.gif 2/images/graemlins/heart.gif

I'm in SB

Flop: 9/images/graemlins/diamond.gif 9/images/graemlins/heart.gif Q/images/graemlins/heart.gif

I believe it was checked around.

5 people see the flop including me. (7 handed)

Turn: T/images/graemlins/heart.gif pot=2.50

I bet $1
MP raises to $2
LP calls
me ???

Do I just assume that I'm behind and fold ? Is there any value in calling and check/calling the river ?

[/ QUOTE ]

You are getting 7.5:1 immediate odds and something like 5.25 :1 implied odds. You are behind Axs, Q9xx, T9xx, QQxx, and TTxx, J8s.

I think it is somewhat unlikely that you were up against a nut flush draw or set on the flop, unless your opponents are passive. Against a loose, aggressive opponent I would call this down (I've seen people bet straights on boards like this) since I can believe you're good 16% of the time. Heck, you still have the J/images/graemlins/heart.gif out for a straight flush! /images/graemlins/smile.gif