PDA

View Full Version : SNGs are down, personal challenge, 500 odd games, etc

Quercus
07-27-2005, 05:59 PM
I've never done one of the personal challenges that seem to be somewhat popular among a lot of posters. But, after heeming and hawing for the last six months about taking a few days off and heading to Vegas, I decided that if I could make $2k in 14 days of poker that I'd treat myself and my wife.

I've never made that much before (though probably close back when I was a 2/4 grinder) so it seemed a good challenge. I'm playing the 33s, which means I need to maintain a 8-10%ish ROI to make it (no including RB).

I crossed 500 games total yesterday and since I can't actually load any at the moment because PP is down, I thought I'd share the stats and ask a question or two.
http://www.fitcouture.com/images/sng-overview.gif

http://www.fitcouture.com/images/sng-finishes.gif

A few things I know about my game.

1. I am not good at accumulating chips before we get into bubble territory. At leat 3/4 times we get to 6 players, I'm below pay - usually well below par. I play very tight and risk averse while the blinds are small (16% VPIP, 5PFR - avoid putting a lot of chips in on draws and weak kicker type hands).

2. I am good at accumulating chips once the play starts to get shorthanded. Most players that I've run across do not seem to adjust their game as the blinds get larger and the table gets smaller.

3. My skill with a shortstack is higher than my skill with a large stack. I tend to sit on my large stack and do not appreciably loosen my starting requirements to bully more players. There are some areas where I've gotten much better (stealing more liberally when there is a very small stack near the bubble with the rest being equal sized) but its still not something I play well. I hear people talking about running the table with their big stack and I wish I knew how/what they did.