PDA

View Full Version : Want to move from "hobbyist" to "amateur"

07-27-2005, 04:25 PM
Hey all,

My situation is that I have been playing poker for several years at home games. In the past 3 years, I have moved up from that level to playing more of a serious game. At this point, I only play limit hold em at the 3/6 or 4/8 level. This is largely a function of my financial situation.

I do not play online for money - that is a personal decision. I will play online for play money, but I recognize that is of limited value.

In total, I have played at a bricks and mortar poker room about 20 times. All told, I am doing fairly well, but I have not been tracking my winnings or keeping track of key hands. I was recently in Vegas and was told by several people that my play has been quite good. I have also played in a couple of tournaments and done fairly well for myself.

For example, here in Toronto, we have this thing called the Red Hot Poker Tour - NL tournaments for no money - just for fun and practice - though there is a Tournament of Champions where the main prize was a trip to Vegas, hang out with Daniel Negreanu and entries into a couple of tournaments. I have played 8 times and won once, 3 second place finishes and a 7th - with about 70-80 people playing.

I have no illusions about becoming a poker pro - but I do want to maximize my winnings and play the best poker I can.

I have just started reading about poker - I have The Theory of Poker by Sklansky which is a great book (plug! plug! commission??) and plan to move on to some others (recommendations?)

What I need now are the tools for managing my game over the long haul. I noted in another thread someone had used a computer program to track their game - I would love some recomendations on where to get that sort of program - free or cheap if possible.

Anything else you can toss my way would be greatly appreciated.

jba
07-27-2005, 05:32 PM