PDA

View Full Version : Betting Amounts in NL

07-26-2005, 09:37 PM
Sorry if this is the wrong forum, but this is probably a beginner's question.

I want to find out if there is a "normal" betting amount in NL. It's hard to explain, I want to know like if you start off the betting preflop, do you bet 3x BB or more than that? I just finished reading Getting Started in Hold 'Em and from what I read, it seems to say to bet 4x-5x BB when you open betting. On the contrary, before I started reading the books I took notes from what I saw on TV and they usually would start off betting with 3x BB. Also, if anyone limps behind you, should you bet more than normal?

Also, when raising someone, normal raise seems to be 3x what they bet, correct? And when you bet preflop, on the flop you should be 2x what you bet before?

I'm sorry if this is in an FAQ I missed. I tried a search, but I didn't find anything.

ubercuber
07-26-2005, 11:04 PM
I'm not very experienced but have had some sucess with NL, as well as disasters. What I have read and heard is pretty much in line with you...3-5x BB pf, but 1/2 pot and pot sized bets post flop. PF add the amount your opponents put in to your bet so say you go with 4xBB this hand you add the amount the raiser ahead of you put in to that total. Main thing to realize is that generally you like to win preflop or on the flop, or at least have a good idea where you stand...you need to put in whatever it costs to that end while considering the size of the pot and the strength of your hand, and other stuff that your book probably covered. Hopefully someone more knowledgably than me can add their 2 cents, like I said I don't have much experience with NL. Good luck.

manpower
07-27-2005, 02:20 AM
This sounds about right. Open raise for 3-5xbb is pretty standard in ring games. Bet half the pot to the pot on subsequent streets.

And is that uber(rubiks)cuber?

pottie
07-27-2005, 07:48 AM