PDA

View Full Version : Limit for me to play or stick to NL?

07-26-2005, 08:52 PM
I'm a college student that decided to give online poker a try. I bought in for 20 bucks and turned that into 140 playing 25/50 cent NL. I know it's not much but I was happy with it. I cashed out my 120 and kept the 20, which I've turned into 220 now. Is it time for me to move up limits? I've been playing for seven years and read several books but I feel nervous about playing larger blinds, though I'd like to make more money, I invested a lot of time in making this small amount of money since I'm a relatively tight player.

Is tournaments the way to go? Limit? NL still?

Advice is definitely welcome.

Yeti
07-26-2005, 08:58 PM
Personally I'd recommend you take that $220 over to the Party $25 NL cash games.

Preferably 6-max. Take it slow. Head over to the small stakes forum for advice.

07-26-2005, 11:57 PM
I play on PStars. There is no way for me to transfer that to PartyPoker is there?

gomberg
07-27-2005, 12:07 AM
no - you can't transfer that. Listen to Yeti's advice - use that whole $250 or whatever you have and keep it just for poker. Play the $25 max buy-in games until you get to $500 and move up. If you start losing, move lower. Until you reach the $200 max buy-in games - plan on keeping about 10 max buy-ins just for poker. When you move above $200 max buy-ins, you will probably want more buy-ins as the games get a little more aggressive and tricky.

If you don't listen to this advice, you are very likely to go broke unless you are excellent.

07-27-2005, 07:59 PM
[ QUOTE ]