PDA

View Full Version : Flush draw, Pot Equity?

dcarlc
07-25-2005, 06:20 AM
PP 3/6 10 Handed

3 folds to MP, He raises, LMP calls, HiJack calls, 2 folds, Hero SB K /images/graemlins/diamond.gifJ /images/graemlins/diamond.gifcalls, BB calls. 10 SB's

Flop: 8 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif4 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif6 /images/graemlins/club.gif

I check(I hope BB bets), BB checks, MP checks, LMP bets, Hi Jack calls, I raise, BB folds, MP folds, call, call. 8BB's

Turn:3 /images/graemlins/spade.gif

Now at this point let me add that the remaining 2 opponents are loose and passive. I am new to Pot Equity. With 8BB's already in the pot and all the outs that I have(Maybe all 15?),I should lead the turn on this draw? If I was to get raised in this spot there would be a minimum of 11 BB's in. If that happened would I want to 3 bet with 7 clean out?

dcarlc
07-25-2005, 11:48 AM
anybody?

W. Deranged
07-25-2005, 11:59 AM
DcarlC...

You are making a very important mistake in your thinking that many players make when new to 2+2 logic. There are really two kinds of "equity" calculations that you need to look at:

1. "Should I Be Involved in the Pot": When looking at hands that may or may not be good, hands which have live draws, or hands which you might try to bluff with, what you need to look at is the likelihood that your hand will be the best at the river compared to the ratio of the money you MUST put into the pot in order to continue participating.

Example: You have 5 outs to two-pair/set with middle pair on the turn and you are pretty confident all these outs are clean, and there are 11 BB in the pot. Your opponent bets into you. You calculate that you have a 5/46 or 9.2 to 1 chance of improving to a winner. Since you are getting 11 to 1 from the pot, you determine it is correct to call.