PDA

View Full Version : Hold Em 5+1 SnG's compared to NL Hold Em

hotsauce615
07-22-2005, 03:06 PM
Hi, I'm still a newbie to poker, and have only been playing for 3 months. Through whoring and .50/1.00 play have gotten my roll to like 700ish starting with 90. Anyway I play a lot of 5+1 sngs now, and have been doing well. I only play Hold Em though, because I feel like my reading and play time on limit tables have better prepared me. I also feel like you catch the occasional fish in there who thinks it's the same as NL. I'm doing ok, but I want to make the jump to NL because it seems like most of the profitable players do that. What reading would you recccomend for NL play at those tables, as well as any other advice is appreciated. Thanks

runner4life7
07-22-2005, 03:16 PM
First, dont play the 5+1s too much rake, then read some of the guides in this forum and post hands you arent sure about.

Slim Pickens
07-22-2005, 04:20 PM
I see no problem with staying at the 5+1's while learning the nuances of NL. Why waste more money learning when you probably a losing player? Limit tournaments are a great way to learn opportunistic stealing since it's even harder to do it in limit than NL, so you're getting good experience in a format with which you're probably comfortable. NL is more profitable in terms of $/hr, and the games are easiest to find and multitable, so that's why most people stick to those. Don't get too caught up in the "robotic" play thread going around. It's a great academic excercise for more advanced players but it's not reccomended you actually play that way if you want to become a good player.

Oluwafemi
07-22-2005, 04:24 PM
[ QUOTE ]