PDA

View Full Version : Should teachers be tipped?

ryanghall
07-21-2005, 07:00 PM
I was just reading another one of those silly argument posts where someone said that dealers shouldn't be tipped and 18 2+2'ers jumped all over them, which is fine. I agree that dealers should be tipped.

Waitresses, cab drivers, hairdressers... the list of people who you tip is getting larger and larger, it would seem (I understand that most people in these professions don't make much money from wage, however, they also haven't gone through years of expensive and difficult education to get their jobs).

My question: should teachers be tipped? Someone who has two or more degrees and spends all day with your child teaching them... but I'm sure the thought has never crossed anyone's mind before (if it has, I've never heard of it).

Is it because teachers get summers off? Is it because teachers are overpaid? I'm just curious. And yes, I'm a teacher.

Dynasty
07-21-2005, 07:01 PM
Maybe you should put a little jar on your desk.

The Yugoslavian
07-21-2005, 07:08 PM
What the hell do you think all those apples are?!?

Yugoslav

kyro
07-21-2005, 07:10 PM
[ QUOTE ]

Yugoslav

[/ QUOTE ]

awesome.

maxfisher
07-21-2005, 07:10 PM
basically, one can either justify tipping every occupation or not tipping any occupation. its pretty silly to arbitrarly sp? pick and choose what occupation does or does not deserve gratuity. i think if a food server deserves a tip, sure a teacher deserves a tip

ihardlyknowher
07-21-2005, 07:23 PM
Wouldn't this create a conflict of interest vis a vis grading?

ryanghall
07-21-2005, 07:36 PM
I would think that a tip would be given after the year is done and the grades are given out.

kyro
07-21-2005, 07:38 PM
wow. read what you just typed. now spend a minute trying to figure out how that would change anything.

ryanghall
07-21-2005, 07:42 PM