PDA

View Full Version : How good is Lee Jones "WLLH"

PokerAmateur4
07-21-2005, 01:51 AM
How solid of a guide to you find this, especially concerning PF advice.

speirs
07-21-2005, 02:39 AM
I think it depends on what your current experience is. When you are a complete novice, it's a good book to start with.

Pokey
07-22-2005, 01:43 PM
That was the first poker book I ever read. I loved it because I didn't know any better. Get SSHE instead and avoid having to unlearn all the weak-tight crap in there.

crunchy1
07-22-2005, 01:46 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Get SSHE instead and avoid having to unlearn all the weak-tight crap in there.

[/ QUOTE ]
SSHE is not a good beginning book - which, incidentally, it directly states in one of the prefaces. I hear that Miller's new book "Getting Started in Hold'em" is excellent - though I haven't read it myself.

SeaEagle
07-22-2005, 01:52 PM
Lee Jones' book is great for a beginner. It's very straightforward and the pre-flop tables are an excellent place to start.

And personally, I think you should learn the weak/tightish style he teaches before learning more advanced play.

krimson
07-22-2005, 01:59 PM
[ QUOTE ]
That was the first poker book I ever read. I loved it because I didn't know any better. Get SSHE instead and avoid having to unlearn all the weak-tight crap in there.

[/ QUOTE ]

I would say the path of least resistance to learn poker is to go from fish to rock to tag. Trying to go from LP-P to TA-A in one step is just a recipe for disaster.

I would say WLLH is the best starting book. I havn't however read Getting Started in Hold'Em, so I can't comment on that.

edit: Typo

droolie
07-22-2005, 02:03 PM
Getting Started in Hold 'Em is a better beginner book. Read that then buy SSH. WLLH was the first book I read and it took me a long time to drop the weak tight mentality.