PDA

View Full Version : My Yankees and My Shame

11-05-2001, 03:24 AM
I'm ashamed of how I feel right now. My Yankees lost. They lost a heartbreaker in the 9th inning. I feel terrible. I feel like I've suffered a death in my family.

How childish. How ridiculous. Why should I feel this way?

I've been rooting for the Yankees for 42 years. They've enjoyed more than their fair share of success. They've won the World Series 4 times in the last 6 years, participated 5 times. They made a miraculous comeback against Oakland and then beat the winningest team in league history. Think about Red Sox fans, or Cubs fans, or White Sox fans, or Clippers fans. What have I got to feel bad about?

And it's not just that. There are people fighting and people dying tonight. People who were fathers and mothers and sons and daughters plunged to their deaths on September 11 because of sheer lunacy. And I feel bad about a baseball game? For crying out loud.

I've been so lucky in my life. Sure, I've had my share of heartbreak; we all carry burdens. But I live a charmed life, I really do. I've gotten far more out of life than I deserve.

And yet. . . What is it that makes a sports team so important to me? The Yankees and baseball were my first loves and they're still there. I know it's just a business, and in the Yankees' case, an unfair business at that.

I noticed Mayor Giuliani applauding at the end of the game. He's apparently as big a fan of the Yanks as I am, but he applauded. I think he was appluading the game, the sheer joy it can bring to people, the beauty of the classic game he had just witnessed, even though he was unhappy with the outcome.