PDA

View Full Version : Is This Legal?

fimbulwinter
07-14-2005, 08:14 PM
Corollary to the Corollary Thread:

guy jacks me with a knife, I give him my cash etc., he takes off.

I immideately pull a pistol and shoot him dead. legal?

what if i shoot him in the stomach/legs?

what if i walk back to my car, get a rifle and shoot him from a distance?

lawyers out there?

fim

spamuell
07-14-2005, 08:15 PM
I am not a lawyer but I'm pretty sure that in the UK all of these are clearly illegal once you are no longer in danger and I'd hope it's the same anywhere.

-Skeme-
07-14-2005, 08:15 PM
I don't know about the others, but I'm fairly certain that leaving the scene to get a weapon makes it assault, not self defense.

I'll venture a guess and say that shooting someone in the back also doesn't qualify as self defense. He's cleary running away and you're really not in much danger anymore. Not to mention shooting someone is much more lethal than say tackling him and taking your cash back.

xorbie
07-14-2005, 08:17 PM
I think there was a case in Texas about this, that may have gone to the supreme court. Something like a guy caught someone stealing from his toolshed and shot him dead with a shotgun. Google is thy ally.

Tron
These are all illegal, but in order of increasing legality, I think it would go:

Shoot the legs --> Shoot the stomach --> Shoot dead --> Leave, get a gun, then shoot dead

Randy_Refeld
I think in NV and TX you have a right to protect your property.

gumpzilla
07-14-2005, 08:19 PM
I am not a lawyer.

I'd be astonished if this were legal. I've heard that it is illegal in several states to do something like pull a gun on an attacker and keep them there until police arrive., and that's an order of magnitude less clearcut.

-Skeme-
07-14-2005, 08:20 PM
[ QUOTE ]