PDA

View Full Version : Can you learn to beat the low limit game?

Basil
07-14-2005, 05:53 PM
Hi.
I'm a total beginner and don't know much at all abour poker at this point. I have read one book so far and that's about it.
I have tried to play some lower limit games and I always get frustrated because people don't play the way they "should". I get called with 7 3 and the guy hit something on the river while I was clearly having the best hand up till 4th street. How do you play against people like that? Is there a way to win in the long run in these games?
I've also tried a few 2/4 games and they tend to work out a lot better.

I really want to master .5/1 before I move one though, but I don't know how!

Thanks.

MegumiAmano
07-14-2005, 06:34 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Hi.
I'm a total beginner and don't know much at all abour poker at this point. I have read one book so far and that's about it.

[/ QUOTE ]

What book?

[ QUOTE ]
I have tried to play some lower limit games and I always get frustrated because people don't play the way they "should". I get called with 7 3 and the guy hit something on the river while I was clearly having the best hand up till 4th street. How do you play against people like that? Is there a way to win in the long run in these games?

[/ QUOTE ]

Having opponents make mistakes is the way to win in the long run. Worrying about an opponent who just sucked out on you with odds he should not have been playing is the short run. That's not to say that you didn't make a mistake on that hand yourself though, which is why you'll see most people on this board focusing on specific decisions during individual hands.

Basil
07-14-2005, 06:37 PM
It's a Swedish book.

I know I make tons of misstakes myself. I think what I wanted to know is if there IS a way of playing agains people that call and raise on everything and win, in the long run. Sure THAT person loses in the long run with odds like that, but then comes another, and another ....

MegumiAmano