PDA

View Full Version : Pocket 8s

smonahan
07-13-2005, 09:50 PM
I'm new to playing with real money. I've been playing with play money for about a year and finally have some extra cash so I started a real money account. I've played about 600 hands so far and am ahead, but I know that's too few hands to make any real conclusions. I picked up GSHE yesterday and have read through the section on limit poker.

One situation where I'm never quite sure what to do is with pocket 8s. These two hands happened 1 hand apart. What's the best way to play these types of situations? Being new I'm not that good at reading other players yet, but the table was playing looser than most table's I've played.

PokerStars 0.05/0.10 Hold'em (9 handed) http://216.119.70.224/converter/hhconverter.pl

Preflop: Hero is MP3 with 8/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 8/images/graemlins/spade.gif.
<font color="#666666">3 folds</font>, MP2 calls, Hero calls, CO calls, <font color="#CC3333">Button raises</font>, SB calls, BB calls, MP2 calls, Hero calls, CO calls.

Flop: (12 SB) 6/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 2/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 3/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="#0000FF">(6 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="#CC3333">BB bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">MP2 raises</font>, Hero calls, CO calls, Button calls, SB folds, BB calls.

Turn: (11 BB) 5/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>
BB checks, <font color="#CC3333">MP2 bets</font>, Hero calls, CO calls, Button folds, BB calls.

River: (15 BB) K/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="#0000FF">(4 players)</font>
BB checks, <font color="#CC3333">MP2 bets</font>, Hero calls, CO calls $0.08 (All-In), BB folds.

Final Pot: 17.80 BB

PokerStars 0.05/0.10 Hold'em (6 handed) http://216.119.70.224/converter/hhconverter.pl

Preflop: Hero is BB with 8/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 8/images/graemlins/diamond.gif.
UTG calls, MP calls, CO calls, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, SB completes, Hero checks.