PDA

View Full Version : Is poker for me? Need advice on what to do

IIAce
07-13-2005, 01:37 PM
Here's a short summary of my poker life: Started with the min. deposit of $10 on pokerroom and lost it in less than a day. Deposited $50 on EP...played only SNG's, never went above $50 and lost it all (I was ALWAYS favorite when I went all in preflop and lost all my chips). Deposited $45 on pokerroom and just played .25/.50 and a few hands of .5/1 every now and then (about 12k hands total..less than 1k .5/1 hands) and made a net profit of $300. I then decided to just play .5/1 with occasional .25/.50 hands every now and then and got up to about $400..then I started playing omaha and lost about a $100 so I got mad for a bit and quit for a semester. A few weeks ago I started playing again with my $300 on pokerroom just .25/.50 and got up to $350. I decided to buy SSHE (my first book) in an attempt to become better and move up in limits, etc...I read it (I think I misinterpreted some of the concepts or didn't completely understand them) and played at .25/.50 and .5/1 and down now to $290 (from $350). I know $60 isn't much at all compared to what limits you guys play at and even my whole "bankroll" is blinds for some of you :P but it feels like it just takes too much effort to make those few bucks..I'm starting to feel it's like a job. I was thinking about just playing .5/1 with the money I got right now...never playing .25/.50 again and see how that goes. The other option is to just withdraw the $290 and go to the gym or something instead of playing poker. I don't know...any other ideas?

PS. I THINK I can keep on making money if I just play like I played before SSHE (tight passive/aggressive). I have pokertracker stats if you guys want to look at them. Could I have just been getting lucky at first or maybe getting unlucky lately? Eh I don't really know what to think but I figured some of you may have gone through the same things.

Thanks

SnglMaltScotch
07-13-2005, 02:14 PM