PDA

View Full Version : World Series of Poker Robots

pokeraz
07-13-2005, 11:59 AM
Found this interesting and hadn't seen it mentioned.

WSOPR (http://www.informationweek.com/story/showArticle.jhtml;jsessionid=E0LPHESUZER2OQSNDBCCK HSCJUMEKJVN?articleID=165701734)

Thoughts?

Zetack
07-13-2005, 12:03 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Found this interesting and hadn't seen it mentioned.

WSOPR (http://www.informationweek.com/story/showArticle.jhtml;jsessionid=E0LPHESUZER2OQSNDBCCK HSCJUMEKJVN?articleID=165701734)

Thoughts?

[/ QUOTE ]

Crap, as if I didn't have to worry enought about with online bots, now they're gonna put up real life bots. I wonder if they'll be hard to detect...

--Zetack

rwanger
07-13-2005, 12:16 PM
Being a programmer, I have to believe that computers will absolutely be able to outperform humans in poker, at some point. Not that this isn't already happening.

But imagine if Lederer could create a program that plays just like he does. It would then be better than Lederer, because it would have perfect memory, calculations, etc.

The trick will be getting it to play like Lederer.

It's certainly a more interesting problem to solve than chess. For those of you who don't know, for games of perfect information, you can create AI without knowing the good strategies yourself. After each turn, you calculate the score to see who is ahead. Then you figure out what the score will be after every possible move. If you look ahead far enough, you see what the best move is, without even knowing "why". Why? Because it gives you the highest score.

It's totally different with poker though.

So with their perfect memory, they should get better over time against a given opponent. You'd have to CONSTANTLY mix it up to play well against it.