PDA

View Full Version : Pot odds/EV question

propaganda
07-13-2005, 11:38 AM
Say you're playing a 5.50 SnG (starting stacks of 1500). You have the nut flush draw with one card to come. The pot is 5000, it's 1000 to you, and you have 1000 left (blinds are 50/100). If you hit the flush, you're the chip leader. I understand that in a cash game, this call is a no-brainer. But if you call here better than 4 times, you'll bust out. The one time you do win, even if you are 100% certain that you'll cash, how can this be an +EV move?

Total prize pool of $50/3 = $16.66 average prize.
4:1 odds means $22 lost with only a $16.66 return.

I am very new to poker (3 months) and VERY new to tourneys (a few weeks), so please excuse a noob question. I'm reading Harrington's book and haven't seen this mentioned yet.

Honest replies and/or verbal abuse that leads me in the right direction are sincerely appreciated.

--propaganda

Ixnert
07-13-2005, 11:46 AM
If you're the chip leader, you're (probably) more likely to place first than second, more likely second than third. So just taking the average of the three places (which would imply an equal likelihood of 1st/2nd/3rd) is incorrect.

gildwulf
07-13-2005, 11:49 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Say you're playing a 5.50 SnG (starting stacks of 1500). You have the nut flush draw with one card to come. The pot is 5000, it's 1000 to you, and you have 1000 left (blinds are 50/100). If you hit the flush, you're the chip leader. I understand that in a cash game, this call is a no-brainer. But if you call here better than 4 times, you'll bust out. The one time you do win, even if you are 100% certain that you'll cash, how can this be an +EV move?

Total prize pool of $50/3 = $16.66 average prize.
4:1 odds means $22 lost with only a $16.66 return.

I am very new to poker (3 months) and VERY new to tourneys (a few weeks), so please excuse a noob question. I'm reading Harrington's book and haven't seen this mentioned yet.