PDA

View Full Version : Advice

happy gilmore
07-12-2005, 04:59 AM
This is my first time posting so I appoligize if I am posting in the wrong forum.

I have been playing low limit Hold'em for some time now and have been reasonably successful, however I know my game has a lot of room for improvement. Lately I have been playing a lot of Tournaments and I repeataly get nocked out in fourth place which could get to be very expensive. So I was wondering how I can more effectively play a hand like the one below when I hit the nuts on the turn.

I am seat 9

300/600 Tourney Texas Hold'em Game Table (NL)
(Real Money) -- Seat 5 is the button
Total number of players : 3
Seat 5: (1500)
Seat 7: (2840)
Seat 9: (5660)
seat 7 posts small blind (150)
seat 9 posts big blind (300)
** Dealing down cards **
Dealt to seat 9 [ Ks, 3s ]
seat 5 folds.
seat 7 (450) to 600
seat 9 calls (300)
** Dealing Flop ** : [ As, Ts, 8d ]
seat 7 checks.
seat 9 bets (300)
seat 7 raises (600) to 600
seat 9 calls (300)
** Dealing Turn ** : [ Js ]
seat 7 bets (300)
seat 9 raises (600) to 600
seat 7 calls (300)
** Dealing River ** : [ Qs ]
seat 7 checks.
seat 9 bets (1100)
seat 7 folds.
** Summary **
Main Pot: 4700
Board: [ As Ts 8d Js Qs ]
seat 5 balance 1500, didn't bet (folded)
seat 7 balance 1040, lost 1800 (folded)
seat 9 balance 7460, bet 2900, collected 4700, net +1800 [ Ks 3s ] [ Royal Flush -- As,Ks,Qs,Js,Ts ]

I believe calling preflop with these cards was fine since I was a significant chip leader, and calling the raise on the flop I blieve is ok holding the nut flush draw. My question is when he bet 300 when I hit the nuts, should I have just called and tried to get him to bet bigger on the river, should I have raised more to try commit him to the hand? On the river would a smaller bet have been better to try to get him to raise, or at least call something? Advice at any point of this hand would be helpful.

lastchance
07-12-2005, 05:07 AM