PDA

View Full Version : is this 'betting for value'?

strategem
02-15-2003, 01:37 AM
Hello
My third thread here -

Have read Lee Jones, and it has helped my play. He mentions the concept of 'betting for value' but doesn't go into it too deply. I am trying to understand the following play in light of this concept. I am a RAW beginner (about 40 total hours) saw my $100 go to $5 at Paradise .50/1.00(lol) bought Lee Jones and now I am hovering around $40...still making mistakes, and I KNOW I can get a lot better. Things are totally different since I read Jones.

I am traderNik. (Don't beat me up too bad tomorrow, okay?)

Game #272750536 - $0.50/$1 Texas Hold'em - 2003/02/13-12:29:59 (CST)
Table "Freeport" (real money) -- Seat 1 is the button
Seat 1: donnie123 ($41 in chips)
Seat 2: CDMcQueen ($13 in chips)
Seat 3: meandean ($25 in chips)
Seat 4: traderNik ($39.75 in chips)
Seat 5: brnxboy ($127 in chips)
Seat 6: Titleist_TB ($22.25 in chips)
Seat 7: billydalton ($30.25 in chips)
Seat 8: vwbug ($18.25 in chips)
Seat 9: kempo ($20.75 in chips)
Seat 10: STYXON ($13.25 in chips)
CDMcQueen: Post Small Blind ($0.25)
meandean: Post Big Blind ($0.50)
Dealing...
Dealt to traderNik [ Js ]
Dealt to traderNik [ Ac ]
traderNik: Call ($0.50)
brnxboy : Fold
Titleist_TB: Fold
billydalton: Fold
vwbug : Call ($0.50)
kempo : Fold
STYXON : Fold
donnie123: Raise ($1)
CDMcQueen: Fold
meandean: Call ($0.50)
*** FLOP *** : [ Jd 6h Qc ]
meandean: Check
traderNik: Check
vwbug : Check
donnie123: Bet ($0.50)
meandean: Call ($0.50)
*** TURN *** : [ Jd 6h Qc ] [ 4c ]
donnie123: Bet ($1)
meandean: Call ($1)
traderNik: Call ($1)
vwbug : Call ($1)
*** RIVER *** : [ Jd 6h Qc 4c ] [ Ts ]
STYXON said, "Cheers all from denmark !"
donnie123: Bet ($1)
meandean: Fold
traderNik: Fold
vwbug : Call ($1)
*** SUMMARY ***
Pot: $11.75 | Rake: $0.50
Board: [ Jd 6h Qc 4c Ts ]
donnie123 bet $3.50, collected $11.75, net +$8.25 (showed hand) [ Ad Kd ] (a straight, ten to ace)
CDMcQueen lost $0.25 (folded)