PDA

View Full Version : Your 20 something, and parents Hate Poker

Cactus Cactus
07-10-2005, 12:47 AM
About half way into my senior year of college, I started studying the game of poker, and ever since, I have studied played and enjoyed poker ever since. I love what I do. I make a great money, I get to travel (and which I do, about every 3 months I take advantage of it)

So, live is good however the parents are a pain in the a$$. BOth of my parents are high up in the corporate world, and the last thing they want to see is their son playing poker. They think that I am going to do this for the rest of my life. I doubt I'll do this for the rest of my life, but what I am doing now I love it. I'll never make this kinda of money at a real job or maybe not even further down the "real job" path. My goal is to start my own business and in order to do that you need money. Oh by the way, right now as I am typing this 30-60 party I just check raised the nut flush on the river for a huge pot . But as for starting a business, I see poker is a great source to fund my dream. I show my parents what I am making and to them it is not "real money" Well real or unreal it buys stuff

So the question is...How do you handle this. I can't just blow off my parents cause they are kinda cool, and did pay for my college education. Anyone going through the same thing

Voltron87
07-10-2005, 12:51 AM
youre out of college, youre not 15 anymore. if you are self sufficient you dont need their approval. parents just dont understand

tell them your plan, explain it to them instead of letting them speculate. they are sort of right, at the end of the day in terms of potential income high limit poker blows.

OrianasDaad
07-10-2005, 01:00 AM
[ QUOTE ]