PDA

View Full Version : Should I give up poker or keep trying?

Wevie
07-09-2005, 07:03 PM
I'd like some honest feedback. I know y'all would love me to keep refilling my bankroll and giving it to you.

I tried ring games online a few months ago and got my ass handed to me. I planned on giving up online poker until I found STT's. Middle May I started playing them and decided the first of June to spend some time trying to make some money. I set a short term goal of making $50 per day and a long term goal of $100 a day. Was hoping to see my long term goal in 6-8 months. This is part time 3-4 hours per day.

I started with a too small bank roll of $150. By the end of June I was up to $550. I felt like I learned some important lessons playing. I planned on going to four 10+1's on Party as soon as I had $600.

First of July I started playing two tables. First two days were going good. I wasn't making much, but I was learning to handle multiple tables. Then things went bad.

I dropped to a $250 bank roll playing two tables. So I dropped back to one table. After 6 days of a downward roller coaster ride, I was down to $25. I'm still holding a 43% ITM rate. I don't know my ROI, but I'm broke, so that must meen its negative. Last night I took that to the .25/.50 6 max NL tables and lost what was left in about 6 hours.

So, now I wonder if I'm just not cut out for this game. The math is there, things seem logical, I'm just not winning. I wonder if I should give up or refill my bank roll. Mind you, it will be a couple months before the wife allows it.

What would you do? How soon do beginners give up? Are my goals too lofty? Any other advice?

Thanks for reading.

skipperbob
07-09-2005, 07:05 PM
How old r u?...How much total poker experience?

citanul
07-09-2005, 07:06 PM
do you enjoy it?
do you have money to blow?

citanul

raptor517
07-09-2005, 07:12 PM
first guess, yer.. 17?? sounds like me when i was 17. cept if i had 500 bucks i was playing 109s. bwahhhahahaha. holla