PDA

View Full Version : Good turn fold?

GSummers
07-08-2005, 12:42 AM
Hi guys. I just started playing for real money after screwing around with play money for a while. Be gentle.

PokerStars 0.02/0.04 Hold'em (9 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Preflop: Hero is UTG+1 with Q/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, J/images/graemlins/heart.gif. CO posts a blind of $0.03.
<font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, Hero calls, MP1 calls, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, CO (poster) checks, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, SB completes, BB checks.

Flop: (5.50 SB) 2/images/graemlins/club.gif, T/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 4/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>
SB checks, BB checks, Hero checks, <font color="#CC3333">MP1 bets</font>, CO calls, SB calls, BB calls, Hero calls.

Turn: (5.25 BB) 8/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">SB bets</font>, BB folds, Hero folds?

Table was loose passive preflop.

I called the flop feeling I have odds to chase overs/bd straight. I just wasn't sure about the turn. Presumably when SB bets out the turn helped him, and now I feel like my overcard outs are a little dodgier. Plus it might get raised behind me by the flop bettor. Is this reasoning sound?

TripleH68
07-08-2005, 12:47 AM
Have you really been lurking for over a year? Welcome.

I think your reasoning on the turn is fine, but what is your reasoning for open-limping this hand preflop in early position?

Quercus
07-08-2005, 12:47 AM
QJo is very pretty to look at, but is a lousy hand. Way too likely to be dominated, and you can't play with any strength if your overs hit. I'd just muck preflop.

Redd
07-08-2005, 12:52 AM