PDA

View Full Version : I don't know what to do.....

2+2 Junkie
07-07-2005, 05:57 PM
I am new to sng's, but have played poker for a while (mostly limit and live games). I cannot win at sng's to save my life. If I play the popular tight model (early, nothing but QQ,KK,AA, and AK, and loosen after stage 4 or whatever) I am so shortstacked at the end that when I go with JJ or KQ or AQ or 66, I get sucked out majority of the time and finish out of the money.
If I play more loose to try and build a stack, I can't hit like all the fish do.
Loose doesn't work, tight means a crap shoot. I hate pushing all in all the time at the end to get called by a single over or two overs and always lose the race, and that is what my tournament comes down to.
I am so frustrated, and it doesn't help with everyone here posting about how one should crush the game ($5-10 games).
I just don't know how this game is profitable without being crazy or really lucky.
Any suggestions before I blow my brains out would help.

citanul
07-07-2005, 06:14 PM
before you go blow your brains out, you should consider hanging yourself instead.

citanul

2+2 Junkie
07-07-2005, 06:17 PM
is that more +ev?

lastchance
07-07-2005, 06:17 PM
Blinds are good. Steal them L4-ITM. Figure out good ways to pick up chips without getting into a fight, and you don't really need a hand to pick up chips without a fight.

L1-L3, you need to play more than QQ-AA, and AK. Of course, getting it in with these hands is good, but you should play small pairs to flop sets given the correct implied odds, and learning to play TPTK and draws for value is really useful (though painful). Good postflop is always good.

citanul
07-07-2005, 06:18 PM
for whoever has to clean up the mess, yes.

citanul

The Yugoslavian
07-07-2005, 06:19 PM
[ QUOTE ]
is that more +ev?

[/ QUOTE ]

Nooses are +gangsta. Glocks are too...