PDA

View Full Version : Help me with blinds

mantra21
07-07-2005, 01:13 AM
Please help me minimize my losses from the blinds. I am fairly new to poker and am still a slight losing player. I play 2/4 on the Party network. I've read the more prominent low stakes books (SSH 3-4 times and Lee Jones book.) With all the bonuses I have managed to turn a large profit but I DO NOT want to rely on bonuses. I want to win at poker playing poker. Looking at my Position stats tab in PT I can see that all of my losses are from the blinds. This is probably normal but I think there must be some ways of plugging the leak. Any advice is appreciated. Let me know if you need more info.

http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/2536/positionchart1go.jpg

I have nothing to compare these numbers to. Is this normal loss or can I improve my game from the blinds?

mantra21
07-07-2005, 01:58 AM
What was I thinking...these stats may help.

http://img170.imageshack.us/img170/6315/main3pl.jpg

Thank you for any input you may have.

Nick C
07-07-2005, 02:07 AM
It's possible you're defending your BB to a steal more than you should. (You do it more than I do, in any event.)

Possibly this will help:

Small Stakes stats post (http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Number=2129886&page=&view=&s b=5&o=&vc=1)

Nick C
07-07-2005, 02:25 AM
I'm not really very good at analyzing stats, but I should mention that one thing that stands out to me when I look at your numbers (and I'm speaking generally and not just about your play from the blinds here) is that your PFR% is kind of low.

Probably you're not pushing as many preflop edges as you should be.

mantra21
07-07-2005, 01:52 PM
Thank you for your reply. Do you think I should be raising more hands like KJs and QJs? Those are the hands I freeze up on preflop.

Anyone else have advice on regarding my play from the blinds?

BWebb
07-07-2005, 02:07 PM