PDA

View Full Version : Stagnating? Trying to figure out how to improve? (longish)

Quercus
07-07-2005, 12:11 AM
In my database, I have 100,000 hands of full ring games. Limits from 0.5/1.0 to 2/4. I'm a decent sized winner at each limit (2-3BB/100) just by playing ABC poker.

I've read TOP, SSHE, HPFAP (and a few others). I was a regular reader and contributor to this forum and yet, I never seemed to feel like my game was improving. I was stuck and didn't really know how to improve.

So, I decided to change some things around. First, I started playing shorthand poker. I crushed the 0.5/1.0 game on Absolute for 10,000 hands and then started working on the 1/2 game on Party. 25,000 hands later, I felt like my blinds play, aggression and preflop hand selection were all vastly improved. It was the first jump in my game that I felt I'd attained in quite some time.

While there is a lot to like about SH play, there are some things I don't like. First, the variance is an unholy nightmare. You play a lot more hands and are in a lot more pots with marginal holdings. You can win or lose a lot in a hurry. Nothing like starting a session with a 70BB downswing in the first hour. Of course, nothing like starting a session with a 70BB upswing in the first hour either.

The second thing I don't like about shorthand is the pace. Multitabling takes an enormous amount of concentration and stamina and though is very nice for rakeback, the constant decision making can be physically tiring after a remarkably short period of time. Tired play leads to mistakes which leads to bad decisions, which is the bane of a good winrate.