PDA

View Full Version : Anyone in NY who pays for their own health insurance?

octop
07-06-2005, 03:24 PM
I am 22 and have lived off my poker winnings since I graduated from college last year. I live in NYC and I'm 22. Can anybody recomend any good health insurance plans that are reasonably priced?

otctrader
07-06-2005, 03:38 PM
If you qualify, www.healthyny.com (http://www.healthyny.com) is the state subsidized plan $150-200/mo otherwise I think your only options are GHI or Aetna which will run between $350-$600/mo depending on if you want an HMO or POS plan.

Structuring yourself as a one-person business has no advantage in NY, nor does being a healthy 20-something, you'll pay the same rate as a mortally obese 60 year old. It's outrageous, but nonetheless skimping on health insurance is major -EV.

octop
07-07-2005, 05:10 PM
That link is a dud

Does anybody have any other suggestions?

bdk3clash
07-07-2005, 06:05 PM
Man, you didn't try very hard.

First Google result for "Healthy NY" (http://www.ins.state.ny.us/website2/hny/english/hnyapp.htm).

StacysMom
07-07-2005, 06:48 PM
I also just graduated, but am still on my parents insurance so I am rather ignorant on this issue.

But I can still make an anology that is up for criticism.

Insurance is essentially playing a lower limit game with an unbeatable rake structure because you don't want to maintain the becesary BR for the big game.

Does anyone here just essentially pay themselves premiums in a designated "health" account? THis would avoid the rake.

beach_bum
07-08-2005, 12:54 AM
I don't think you really understand how much the bills can be if you need a lot of health care. The premiums don't begin to cover what the costs could be. For those without insurance get yourself major medical coverage and pay for all the small stuff out of your pocket. If you need serious medical care and you are uninsured you will be broke unless you decide to take whatever care the government will give you.

[ QUOTE ]