PDA

View Full Version : Good Or Bad Idea???

PokerProdigy
07-05-2005, 04:35 AM
First, I would like to say that I am NOT trying to get into the "extrememly silly subject of money management" debate. Rather, I am wondering if this bankroll idea (for SNG's) will give me a pretty good chance (maybe 90% or better) of NOT going broke in the near future, assuming that I am a winning player. Basically, I don't want to have a really high risk at going broke because I am a broke college student, but I also want to make a decent amount of money because I am a broke college student /images/graemlins/smirk.gif. My idea is that I will jump up to the next limit whenever I have 15 buy-ins for that limit and then I will drop back down if I drop like 5-7 of them. Within the past week I have been playing the $10+1 sng's at party and have took two (unsuccesful) shots at the $20+2 using this strategy. Basically, I am wondering if a 15 buy-in bankroll is big enough AS LONG AS I am willing to drop back down whenever my "shot" is unsuccesful at the next level?

lastchance
07-05-2005, 04:41 AM
15 Buy-in's is nowhere near enough if you want to have a stable level. 30 buy-in's dropping down when you only have 15 buy-in's sounds a lot bettter.

PokerProdigy
07-05-2005, 04:45 AM
[ QUOTE ]
15 Buy-in's is nowhere near enough if you want to have a stable level. 30 buy-in's dropping down when you only have 15 buy-in's sounds a lot bettter.

[/ QUOTE ]

I was under the impression that sng's have VERY low variance and that 20-30 buy-ins is definitely enough. Therefore, I was thinking that 15 would be enough as long as I "aggressively" moved up and down in limits.

By the way, I am NOT trying to say that I am doing the right thing here, but rather just trying to justify my logic. So if you still think what I am doing is pretty risky, then by all means let me know, and please explain/justify your answer a little bit more.

pergesu
07-05-2005, 04:48 AM