PDA

View Full Version : A Few Beginner Questions

kitaristi0
07-03-2005, 02:46 PM
Keep in mind that i am a complete novice at playing Omaha/8. However, i do have some limit hold 'em experience under my belt.

1. What kind of bankroll should i have for tackling the $0.5/$1 limit Omaha/8 tables at Party?

2. How much should i buy in for?

3. Should i buy PT Omaha before i even start playing, or should i start playing first and then acquire PT Omaha some time in the near future?

4. Ray Zee's book for Stud Hi-Lo and Omaha Hi-Lo is for advanced players, but is it too advanced to be a first Omaha Hi-Lo book or should i go with sth like Cappaletti's book first?

5. Which starting hands should i be raising with preflop?

Thanks for the input.

MyTurn2Raise
07-03-2005, 02:58 PM
having just switched from hold'em to Omaha/8 myself, I can answer a few of these

1. $200 is more than enough, even for multi-tabling

2. the standard $25 is enough, but every once in awhile, you might need to rebuy for table image purposes

3.YES YES YES, buy pokertracker. After every 1,000 hands or so, look at your stats to find the leaks. Also, it really helps in judging good games to be in and how to handle certain opponents. For example, I found my W$SD (win money at showdown) percentage was low, meaning I was chasing too many non-nut draws.

4. Read both...Ray Zee puts everything you need for the low limits in about 30 pages--easily understood--I read this portion every other day or so. Capalleti will start you at ground zero and is marginally more helpful. I do like his blind defense scoring system. More importantly, visit Gregery's website, www.o8poker.com. (http://www.o8poker.com.) It contains simplified starting hand chart and very interesting math numbers that helped my game alot.

5. Don't know, I'm still very confused on this point. I feel like a wuss after my holdem background. Review past threads.

kitaristi0
07-03-2005, 04:12 PM
Thanks a lot. Yours answers were really helpful.