PDA

View Full Version : Bankroll and bad beats

propaganda
07-02-2005, 02:29 AM
Hi all,
First time posting here, so bear with me. I'm having a bit of trouble at pokerroom. I can get into the money in the $10+1 S&Gs at a fair rate, but find the 5+.50's' nearly impossible due to bad beats. My bankroll is very short (about $100, I took a beating the past week) as I'm a student. So what I'm wondering is, is my greater cash rate at the $10+1's a fluke, or is the varience just that horrendous at the $5+.50's? Am I better off risking ruin at the $11's or is my problem with the $5.50's just an odd run of luck?
--propaganda

Freudian
07-02-2005, 02:31 AM
So what I'm wondering is, is my greater cash rate at the $10+1's a fluke, Yes
or is the varience just that horrendous at the $5+.50's? Variance or not, should be easier to beat
Am I better off risking ruin at the $11's or is my problem with the $5.50's just an odd run of luck? No, you are not better off playing the 11s and yes luck will have a big influence in the short run

MegaBet
07-02-2005, 02:44 AM
If you plan on playing the 11s with a $100 bankroll...good luck. There are not many of us here who'd last too long with only 9 buy-ins to work with, even at the "easy" 11s.

propaganda
07-02-2005, 09:21 AM
I think I figured out what is causing much of my volatility. I find myself staying with top pair/good kicker(usually top kicker) hands. Keep in mind, I'm often the best hand when I do so, but the folks in the $5.50's don't get the hint when you're firing off pot sized bets. Get a few of them to chase 2-6 outers over the turn and river, the pot size goes up dramatically, I'm betting off a good chunk of my stack, and they only have to hit once. It may be a weak-tight strategy, but when I get a chip lead in a $5.50, I think that if I don't flop better than top pair, I'm going to be FAR more cautious than I have been.