PDA

View Full Version : Golf rule question

judgesmails
07-01-2005, 11:17 AM
I am an absolutist when it comes to recording my golf score.

I never take a "mulligan," never give myself a putt, and play by all the rules to the best of my knowledge. However, I am not a rules expert and need some help on recording my score on a hole I played yesterday.

This may come across as bragging, and I suppose it is, as I could tell the story without these self-aggrandizing details - but I chose not to.

The hole in question, the 14th at Desert Pines in Las Vegas, was playing at 285 yds and a par 4. I chose to hit a 3-wood as I was concerned a driver would be too much and I have hit this green with my 3-wood on other occasions. I crushed my 3-wood and my ball landed just to the right of the green and rolled a little long (yeah, thats right - 285 yd carry with a 3-wood).

As I was waiting for others in my group to hit their approach shots, a player from an adjacent hole drove by my ball and picked it up. All the players in my group witnessed the theft. I drove over to him and told him I saw him pick up my ball and asked him for it back and to help me place it back in the original location.

He was a drunken yahoo who was probably on his first or second ever visit to a golf course. He denied taking my ball even though I could see his golf partners were extremely embarassed and he was so obviously lying. Since I did not feel like getting in a fight over a $3 golf ball, I blew it off and dropped as close to spot I witnessed him steal my ball from.

I chipped to 2 feet and made the putt. What score should I record?

It was not practical for me to return to the tee to hit 3 from there as there were 2 groups backed up on the tee wating.

This sort of things happens often on public golf courses. What is the proper way to score these situations?

MoreWineII
07-01-2005, 11:32 AM
18-1/1 Treating Ball as Moved by Outside Agency Rather Than Lost