PDA

View Full Version : Winning online tournaments

imported_Dozer
06-30-2005, 09:30 AM
I'm a three-year veteran of playing online. I'm good but haven't been able to turn the corner on boosting my bankroll (I'm at +$1,000). Part of the problem is that I don't play enough (up to 8 hours/week).

My passion is for online tourneys. In my life, not including SNGs, I've won three tourneys (Stud H/L, NL and FL) and cashed in maybe 15 more (including a big prize in a NL tourney). I'm good at them, but I want to get better.

I'm looking for tips for playing online tournaments. I play a lot at PokerStars, so if you have any Stars-specific advice, I'd be appreciative. I also have PokerTracker but don't have all my hands uploaded yet.

Thanks in advance.

PokerChamp22
06-30-2005, 10:12 AM
This has been discussed a lot, check the search feature and look in the archives.

Play good drawing hands early, small pairs for set value, don't risk 2 many chips early, lots of crazy moves happen with more people (fish) in. That being said, don't be afraid to be aggressive with monster draws on the flop (flush and 2 overs, etc.).

When blinds start getting to decent level, mix in some blind steals to stay ahead of the game. Steal from late position, middle position. UTG/ early position steals are risky with the whole table left to act.

Switch gears when the table gets tight (bubble time), gather up some chips and work your way up.

In the money, people start going for big moves (trying to move up or bust since they have some money now), sit back a bit and wait for a hand.

jvphish
06-30-2005, 10:26 AM
youve only made a grand in 3 years?

revots33
06-30-2005, 10:28 AM
Have you read Harrington on Holdem Books 1&2 yet? If not you should.

meow_meow
06-30-2005, 11:25 AM
Maybe I'll get flamed in this forum, but ring games and SNGs are where the steady money is made.

imported_Dozer
06-30-2005, 11:50 AM
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]