PDA

View Full Version : What should you focus on?

Al Schoonmaker
06-29-2005, 06:17 PM
As a psychologist, I was naturally delighted that Greg's data say that improving focus/avoiding tilt was the best way to improve results. I've had that belief for years, but did not have solid data to back it up. In fact, there are hardly any data on any psychological issue in poker.

I also agree with his recommendation that his friend should spend some time on our psychology forum. We discuss emotional control all the time. Ed Miller will also address this issue in Part III of his series on going pro. I urge all wannabe pros to take that article as seriously as you take the first two.

By chance, I just finished reading "One of a kind," a biography of Stu Ungar. He had incredible focus at the table, and he rarely went on tilt while playing. However, he had no focus at all away from the poker table. He would bet on anything, and he would often have a bet on every baseball game and every horse race. In fact, his LIFE was on tilt. If he could have focused on poker and controlled his destructive urges, he would be alive and rich today.

I'm currently working with a small number of players who have a tilt problem. My procedures are based on solid research that was conducted in other settings, but we are still experimenting. I frankly admit that some of my procedures will have to be revised. But that's the nature of all forms of treatment. All an honorable professional can do is tell his clients that results are not guaranteed and keep his mind open to improving his procedures.