PDA

View Full Version : Glasses or Contacts?

Mars357
06-28-2005, 10:06 AM
I've been wearing glasses for about two years now. I really hate wearing glasses. I have an appointment tomorrow with the eye doctor and I'm thinking about switching to contacts. I've heald off on the contacts because I'm not sure I'll be very good at putting them in and taking them out. I've been thinking aobut getting my prescription for contacts and getting a pair of disposables just to try them out.

Can anyone offer any insight on contacts? Which are better, hard or soft (there's some joke fodder), disposable or non-disposable... any brands that you've found to be more comfortable than others?

Do you have to take disposables out every night? I'd love something I can put in and leave alone for a week or more....

Thanks!

Mars

hoopsie44
06-28-2005, 10:15 AM
I've been wearing contacts for 25 years and they're light years ahead of glasses. I wear JNJ Acuvue disposable. Wear them 2 weeks and throw them out. I don't even think hard lenses are around anymore. You should take the lenses out each night although there have been plenty of nights I haven't done it. Have also gone swimming with them and have had no problems, although this isn't recommended. Inserting them and taking them out is a cup of tea. Your eye care professional can show you how to do that in 15 minutes. I keep a spare care of glasses but I honestly can't remember last time I wore them.

namknils
06-28-2005, 10:15 AM
I've had contacts for many years. Soft contacts are much much better, the doctor won't even think about hard contacts unless you have some sort of eye condition that would specifically call for them (something more than just weak eyesight).

I think the brand I have is Accuview, which are comfortable for me, but the eye doctor will probably recommend a brand for you that should fit your eye.