PDA

View Full Version : Whiskey

woodguy
06-27-2005, 09:05 PM
While I am not an expert, I do enjoy this drink.

I am Scottish/Canadian though, so I do have strong opinions on the subject.

1) Must be drunk either a) neat, b) on the rocks (my fav), or c) with waterback

If you add anything besides water or chilled/frozen water to whiskey, you might as well buy those sugary pansy drinks/coolers.

Adding sugar to good whiskey is a crime.

If you cannot stomach the taste of a whiskey unless you add a sugary pop-like substance, then you probably shouldn't be drinking that whiskey.

There is one good American Whiskey with which I am familiar, that being Jack Daniel's. In fact, my enjoyment of said product is what spurred me to write this.

A lot of American Burboun's are tough to drink, very sugary and heavy (i.e Wild Turkey)

Keep your whiskey in the freezer. It won't freeze and all hard alcohol is best served cold. (see Gin/BombaySaphire/cold=heaven)

There is no really good Canadian Whiskey except Schenley's OFC, which is not available outside of Canada.

The Scottish and the Irish produce the best whiskey on the planet, bar none.

My current favorites are: Bushmill's (Irish) and Oban's (Scottish).

Drinking Whiskey and water all night produces very little hangover given the level of intoxication experienced, especially compared to anything containing sugar (including/especially beer)

Again, I am no expert, but my bloody lord whiskey is goot.

Regards,
Woodguy

Bigdaddydvo
06-27-2005, 09:20 PM
Maker's Mark is my favorite semi-premium bourbon.

woodguy
06-27-2005, 09:25 PM
What is the difference between bourbon and whiskey?

Regards,
Woodguy

Bigdaddydvo
06-27-2005, 09:43 PM
bourbon is whiskey but not all whiskey is bourbon.

Has to do with the malts used I think. I'll google it later.

HtotheNootch
06-27-2005, 09:45 PM
[ QUOTE ]

Regards,
Woodguy

[/ QUOTE ]