PDA

View Full Version : Blind stealing basics: when you are called

Mizzles
06-27-2005, 04:57 PM
I'm somewhat new to no limit (been a limit player for 15 yrs). All I have to say is now I find limit to be extremely boring now and don't know if I'll ever go back....

"once you go black you don't go back"
"once you go asian you never go caucasian"
"once you go no-limit you never go limit" ?? LOL

Anyway here's the hand in question... Help / advice to this no-limit newbie is greatly appreciated.

I was in a multitable tourny yesterday, bubble approaching, blinds 1000 / 2000, just got moved to this table so I have no table image and everyone is an unknown.

8 players. On the button w/ about 27,000 in chips, everyone folded to me, I raised w/ 97o to about 6000. Both blinds have about 80,000 in front of them.

1) Do you steal here? Does their large stack size make it less of an option? Hand too weak?

BB calls. Flop comes Q9x rainbow. Check to me.

2) Do I bet here? (A check-raise would be a disaster). I have mid pair w/ no kicker. So I bet 10,000 into a ~13,000 pot.

3) Did I bet too much?

BB check-raises all in. Now what? He's likely got AQ, KQ, or slow playing an overpair, doubt this is a complete bluff. Fold leaves me w/ 11,000 in chips.

4) Fold or call and why?

Any advice is appreciated!

chopchoi
06-27-2005, 05:42 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I'm somewhat new to no limit (been a limit player for 15 yrs). All I have to say is now I find limit to be extremely boring now and don't know if I'll ever go back....

"once you go black you don't go back"
"once you go asian you never go caucasian"
"once you go no-limit you never go limit" ?? LOL

Anyway here's the hand in question... Help / advice to this no-limit newbie is greatly appreciated.

I was in a multitable tourny yesterday, bubble approaching, blinds 1000 / 2000, just got moved to this table so I have no table image and everyone is an unknown.